21 Nov 2014

The Exhibition and Event Association of Australasia’s (EEAA) 2014 Awards for Excellence were presented at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre gala dinner last night in front of an industry crowd from across Australia and New Zealand.

The dinner featured the best of Victorian produce, Melbourne band - The Gentleman’s Swing Club and an elegant Awards ceremony created by suppliers in the EEAA community. The evening was anchored by talented ABC presenter, James O’Loghlin.

Winner trophies were presented in 15 categories and the first Hall of Fame inductee was named in a special tribute to recognise consistent achievement.

EEAA Chief Executive, Joyce DiMascio, said 40 percent of entries came from first time entrants and new Members, reflecting the changing profile of the industry and the EEAA Membership.

“There is no more fitting way to close the events year than to come together to celebrate the high achievers from our community of organisers, venues and suppliers,” she said.

The 2014 entries included exciting new shows and established ones, new products and services, proud teams from venues and shows and other categories. All categories attracted a very high standard of entries – in some cases only a whisker separated the winners. In four categories, there was both an overall winner and commended finalist.

“The awards attracted double the number of nominees for the Richard Geddes Young Achiever Award showing the strengthening impact of the Association’s work with its younger members. When you see the calibre of entrants, we are reminded that the future of our industry is in capable hands,” Ms DiMascio said.

EEAA President, Domenic Genua, said he was proud to be the President of such a vibrant and strong Association.

“On this night, we see the outstanding work that is delivered by our Members throughout the year. It is an industry that continues to evolve and adapt – we see this clearly in the winners tonight.

“It is also an industry that gives generously and I thank our partners and supporters for their contribution to this gala event,”
he said.

New in 2014 was the creation of a Hall of Fame.

“This followed feedback from EEAA Members who wanted to see those who had won a category for three consecutive years to be inducted into a Hall of Fame. This is a mark of distinction for enduring achievement,” Mr Genua said.

Entries from organisers, venues and suppliers from across Australia and New Zealand were reviewed by an independent panel of judges. Each category was assessed by three judges and their scores consolidated to determine the winners.

Ms DiMascio said the competition had been tough and she thanked the judges for diligently scrutinising submissions.

“To win an Award for Excellence is a great accolade and one which individuals and companies are very proud to receive. So our congratulations to all those on the honour roll tonight,” Ms DiMascio said.

“We also say thank you to all our partners and sponsors for supporting this special night.”

For media information - contact Adam Woods at:
Adam Woods
Marketing Director
+61 2 9422 2500

We use cookies to operate this website and to improve its usability. Full details of what cookies are, why we use them and how you can manage them can be found by reading our Privacy & Cookies page. Please note that by using this site you are consenting to the use of cookies.